Vision Quest

I would like to share a piece I wrote quite a number of years ago – it was something that came to me near the beginning of my spiritual journey.

Fig Tree in Queens Garden

Vision Quest

The sound of distant drumming –

And ancient memories.

An eagle feather floating down

Upon a gentle breeze.

A tree with many branches –

The centre of the world.

A crystal placed within my palm –

A lightning bolt unfurled.

A circle painted in the sand,

Containing all within.

The smoking of a sacred pipe –

A dream has taken wing.

The chanting of a tribal song,

The rhythmic dancing beat.

A true initiation rite –

Fire beneath my feet.

The faces of my elders

Before my inner eye,

A time for resurrection –

Symbolically I die.

My medicine is Buffalo,

My energy is Sun,

My shield I hold before me –

My journey has begun.

– Penny Houghton

About Penny Houghton

I have been on my journey of self-discovery for many years, having had a particular interest in meditation and toning in the past. I am still seeking the Truth, and have given lectures on many topics, including healing through sound, animal afterlife, humans connecting and transforming, and living in the now. Currently I run a discussion group, and am considering running workshops. I am eager to share what I have learned along the way with others, and also to learn in return!
This entry was posted in Poetry, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vision Quest

  1. Hi
    I have nominated you for the WordPress Family Award. You can see it at:
    http://ultralovesolutions.wordpress.com/2013/12/13/family-award/
    Cheers!

  2. 2flames1soul says:

    Wow!! Incredible…truth.. ♥♥♥…I am vibrating from this….
    XO

Leave a Reply

