Finding the Inspiration to Create a Beautiful Life

A few blogs I read today have a common thread – creativity and inspiration. It seems a lot of people out there lately are realising there is more to life than the left brain, analytical way of looking at things. Of course, a lot of these people have probably always been creative, but have let it suffer while doing mundane jobs just to bring in some hard-earned cash. Now, creative people, more and more, are trying to find ways of making a living by utilising their creative talents. Unfortunately, these type of talents are often considered by others as not relevant, or worthy of funding, or anything that could possibly be considered a ‘real’ job.

DSC_0136 (2)

Inspiration can come from the most unlikely places. Look at the colours in this old rusty piece of machinery.

When I was growing up, I came from a very musical family. My father loved classical music. He also played the harmonica. I picked up on my own how to play the piano (my uncle was a concert pianist, another uncle a concert violinist, etc.), and spent many hours doing this. I could also sing and dance. I decided I wanted to be a professional singer and dancer, and I remember people’s comments, such as ‘What are you going to do to fall back on?’ ‘What are you going to do for a PROPER job?’ and so on. I didn’t let this deter me. I became a professional singer and dancer, and brought in an income for a number of years, doing what I loved. When I decided to start a family, I (rather foolishly probably), gave it all away. I have since been a teacher aide working with special needs children, and an admin officer working for an electrician (yahoo!). On being retrenched from my job a couple of months back, I have taken the opportunity to reassess things. I would love to go back to doing something creative. I also love writing (as you may have gathered) and decided to start this blog. I have actually always written short stories and poetry, but never attempted to publish anything (there’s that fear coming in!). Maybe I will have to start putting more stuff on here!

You may be wondering where this is leading! Well, back to inspiration and creativity. There are so many ways we can become inspired to do something creative. Just take a look at the world around you. Mother Nature is spectacular! Last night my husband and I went down to the waterfront and saw the most beautiful sunset I think I have ever seen. Now some may say that if they live in a city it is hard to find anything of beauty, but I would beg to differ. Have you noticed that single flower poking up through the pavement (how strong and independent), or that bird making its nest on the narrow window ledge of the tallest building (how brave), or the reflections in that puddle left by last night’s incredible storm (shimmering, still, deep)? You may find inspiration from a movie you like, or a book you have read (and read again because it is so good!). Those closest to you may offer inspiration by what they do in their lives, helping others, just being there for you, or the beauty in that wrinkled face, or that long silvery hair, or that vibrant smile they offer as a gift to everyone they meet.

DSC_0127 (2)

Shadow shapes

What about the shapes in things? Many buildings have amazing geometrical shapes in their floor and wall tiles, their windows, their pillars. What colours can you see around you to inspire? Red for passion, blue for communication, violet for a more spiritual vibe? Open your eyes – the world is full of wonders to inspire, even if you DON’T consider yourself creative! Listen to beautiful music, feel jazz get into your soul, dance to the rhythms around you. Visit the art gallery or the museum. Speak to other creative people and listen to their stories. Even the ordinary can hold inspiration – I am reminded of a friend who likes to tell how another mutual friend, on seeing her looking at the ants scurrying around, commented ‘There’s a story in that!’

I intend to start being inspired to create in the hope that I can share the inspiration with others and help them to see past the mundane. I hope you will too.

Check out these blogs (thanks to John at DougDoesLife, jazzybeatychick and Leanne Cole for inspiring my blog today):

http://dougdoeslife.com/2013/11/19/repurposing-your-skills-and-talents/

http://jazzybeatchick.com/2013/11/10/jazz-as-my-teacher-a-love-supreme-by-jazzybeatchick/

http://leannecolephotography.com/2013/11/20/finding-what-inspires-you/  When you go to this blog, make sure you take the link to Leanne’s article on Photographers.com.au

About Penny Houghton

I have been on my journey of self-discovery for many years, having had a particular interest in meditation and toning in the past. I am still seeking the Truth, and have given lectures on many topics, including healing through sound, animal afterlife, humans connecting and transforming, and living in the now. Currently I run a discussion group, and am considering running workshops. I am eager to share what I have learned along the way with others, and also to learn in return!
This entry was posted in Creativity, Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Finding the Inspiration to Create a Beautiful Life

  1. DougDoesLife says:

    Good post Penny…I often look to the mundane for inspiration in my sculpture. i love the first photo you posted.Rust has a beautiful variety of color and texture that isn’t often appreciated. I try to incorporate found object items in my work, and I keep the rust as a design element. Thanks for the mention in your post!

  2. All the photos on my blog (except where I mention otherwise) are taken by him. It’s nice for him to know his photos are being seen by someone other than the family!

  3. Penny Hi! Found you from the FB group. I would love to have you participate and share a post in my “12 Days of Christmas” you sound like my kind of peep!

    http://bluebutterfliesandme.wordpress.com/2013/12/11/perfect-unique/
    Namaste
    Sindy

    • Hi Sindy, thank you for inviting me to participate in your ’12 Days of Christmas’. I would love to do a post for you. Is the 17th Dec free? Mind you I am on the other side of the world to you, so we hit the 17th here in Australia before you do! I could do the post that night (my time). I am going away at the end of that week, so would prefer to do one early week if possible! Thanks, Penny

Leave a Reply

