Gratitude – an Idea to Inspire You

I had an idea today. I am not currently working, and I was thinking about what would make a nice Christmas gift for those I love, and for friends too, that doesn’t cost money but is something worthwhile.

Thank you for being you! ♥

How about gratitude? Tomorrow, I am going to write up a list with people’s names on who mean something to me. Then each day, I am going to write under the person’s name, something about them for which I am grateful, or something I appreciate about that person. For instance, under my daughter’s name I could put ‘Thank you for choosing me as your mum and coming into the world at this time‘, ‘I love your smile‘, ‘You have the most amazing creative abilities‘ and so on. Then I will do this for all the other people. Just before Christmas (we don’t have Thanksgiving in Australia), I will put all these thoughts of gratitude on little cards and place in a small bag for each person.

On Christmas Day (or beforehand if I don’t see them all then), I will present them with the bag which contains all the thoughts I have come up with for that person to show how much I appreciate them and love having them in my life.

Sometimes we spend too much time praising those who we think of as our heroes, or putting others that we don’t even know on a pedestal, yet how often do we give thanks and appreciation to those we care about? So, let someone you love inspire you!

You might like to start by doing the same – start tomorrow, giving thanks. It doesn’t hurt to give thanks to the universe too, for all the things that have come our way – good AND bad (the bad things help us learn and teach us to grow and move forward). It’s purely coincidental that I am doing this – I only just realised that in America you are already focussing on Thanksgiving and gratitude! I must have picked up the good vibes!

Oh, and one more thing – THANK YOU to all those who read my blog! It is nice to know someone may gain some inspiration from what I put up here.

About Penny Houghton

I have been on my journey of self-discovery for many years, having had a particular interest in meditation and toning in the past. I am still seeking the Truth, and have given lectures on many topics, including healing through sound, animal afterlife, humans connecting and transforming, and living in the now. Currently I run a discussion group, and am considering running workshops. I am eager to share what I have learned along the way with others, and also to learn in return!
This entry was posted in Personal development, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gratitude – an Idea to Inspire You

  1. DougDoesLife says:

    That’s a good idea! I think I’ll do this for my daughters.

  2. clayton paul says:

    A super Christmas present! And thank you for sharing your thoughts, ideas, and feelings. That means so much to people.

    Enjoy your day,
    Clayton

Leave a Reply

