Seeking Truth

I am a seeker. A spiritual seeker on a journey to find truth. These three words – seeker, spiritual, truth – may have different meanings for different people, dependent on their perspective.

Little Crystal Creek - Paluma NQ 19

Our path can have many obstacles

Seeking indicates that you are looking for something that is not easily found, or is hidden from everyday sight – occult if you like (this is the true meaning of the word occult: not revealed, secret, not easily apprehended or understood, mysterious, hidden from view, concealed). It is a search, a process of discovery.

Spiritual means something which pertains to the spirit or soul, as distinguished from the physical nature; relating to or affecting the human spirit or soul as opposed to material or physical things. It is experiencing things from a point of view outside the daily grind, where we so often get caught up in the physical, mundane activities.

Truth lies in the quality or state of being true – conformity with fact or reality, an indisputable fact, proposition or principle that is true or is accepted as true, actuality or actual existence. Truth can be a broad concept which might also embrace all about the world that is beyond logic or belief, but at some future time, may be proven as real.

For me, being a seeker on a spiritual journey is a way of showing others that I have been moving through life on a mission, a path that has taken me in varying directions at different points in my life. A path that has been full of obstacles to overcome, but is nevertheless leading me forward, allowing me to look within as well as outside myself for answers. Does religion have the answers? It may, but it is not for me, as I believe that sometimes dogma gets in the way of allowing us to see the real truth of things, without blinkers or conditioning or how others think it SHOULD be.

The real answers, I believe, can really only be found within your own being – no one has the same perspective on life, we each create our own reality, and therefore Truth will mean something different to me than it does to you. Imagine a lantern with different coloured sides – whichever side you look through, you are still looking at the same thing – the light within. I do not believe that anyone should force their belief or opinion on anyone else, we all need to find our own way and follow our own path. This may be the way of the devotee for some, a hermit for others, living a life of service for another, or simply turning within WHILE WE LIVE IN THIS EVERYDAY WORLD, seeing what is around us as part of our truth of existence and the reality we have created for ourselves.

The more centred I become (and I am not talking about self-centredness!), the more I am in touch with my core being, and can gain insights as to my true nature and the reason for me being here at this time. The more I align with my passions, the happier I become and the easier it is to accept all that is around me, and see it as a reflection of my inner self.

If our inner selves are in turmoil, then our outer world will also be in turmoil. Take a look at the world today. What does it tell you about the state of everyone’s inner selves? We are losing touch more and more with our paths, losing our compassion, losing our sense of self, that is why the world is in chaos. If you want to see a change in the world, you need to change yourself first. BE the change you want to see.

About Penny Houghton

I have been on my journey of self-discovery for many years, having had a particular interest in meditation and toning in the past. I am still seeking the Truth, and have given lectures on many topics, including healing through sound, animal afterlife, humans connecting and transforming, and living in the now. Currently I run a discussion group, and am considering running workshops. I am eager to share what I have learned along the way with others, and also to learn in return!
This entry was posted in Spirituality, Truth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

