Maybe Blogging IS Worthwhile!

I have just recently been awarded the ‘Versatile Bloggers Award‘ – thank you to John at Doug Does Life.versatile-bloggerI really appreciate the nomination, as it encourages me to keep blogging and sharing my thoughts and insights. Please check out John’s blog here http://dougdoeslife.com/about/

His monkey Doug will inspire you I’m sure, and I just love the illustrations of all the things Doug gets up to!

There are actually certain rules involved with being nominated for The Versatile Blogger Award as follows (and you can link to more about this here): http://versatilebloggeraward.wordpress.com/about/

  •  Thank the person who gave you this award.
  •  Include a link to their blog.
  •  Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
  •  Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award — you might include a link to this site.
  •  Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself

I would like to point out that I am quite new to the blogosphere, and have only recently discovered all these fabulous blogs, so it was actually hard to round up 15 yet, but I’m sure that will change as I work my way around WordPress further!

So, my nominees so far (in no particular order) for ‘The Versatile Bloggers Award’ are:

I promise to add another 8 as I have time to explore more!

Now for ‘7 Things About Me’:

  1. I live with my husband of 27 years on the beautiful Sunshine Coast, a region about 1 hour north of Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, but have lived in Melbourne (where I grew up), Perth and Brisbane, with a couple of short stints on Hayman Island (lucky me!).
  2. My 22 year old daughter currently lives in Melbourne, but is moving back to Brisbane in January (I am so glad – I have missed her terribly).
  3. I have worked in varying fields, starting off as a professional singer and dancer in my 20’s, being a mum in my 30’s as well as becoming a teacher aide working with special needs children into my 40’s. I have worked as an admin officer for an electrical company for a number of years, and am now unemployed and trying to discover my passions.
  4. I love animals and wish people would respect them more.
  5. I consider myself a spiritual person, but not religious, as I believe we can get too tied up with dogma.
  6. Reading is one of my passions – especially books that explore the nature of self and the universe (including science).
  7. Family and friends are important to me, and I like to help when I can, be it with a listening ear, having fun, healing through my use of toning or just hanging out.

Don’t forget to check out Doug Does Life, the nominator of my award. Thanks again John!

About Penny Houghton

I have been on my journey of self-discovery for many years, having had a particular interest in meditation and toning in the past. I am still seeking the Truth, and have given lectures on many topics, including healing through sound, animal afterlife, humans connecting and transforming, and living in the now. Currently I run a discussion group, and am considering running workshops. I am eager to share what I have learned along the way with others, and also to learn in return!
This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Maybe Blogging IS Worthwhile!

  1. DougDoesLife says:

    You’re welcome Penny! It’s good to know a bit more about you…

  2. yakinamac says:

    Thank you so much for nominating me! I hope you won’t be too annoyed, though, if I don’t follow all of the rules. I’m never 100% sure about whether these things will be well-received – though personally, I’ve found it great to get the boost! I’m really enjoying your blog – look forward to seeing more of your posts. 🙂

    • Well, they’re not really MY rules! I’m sure these are not hard and fast, I am passing along what seems to go with receiving the award. I guess it’s about spreading the awareness of other people’s blogs to more and it’s a great way to get recognised, especially when you are just starting out (as I am). I certainly haven’t finished my list of awardees yet! It’s all about enjoyment – no one needs pressure!

  3. http://getreadingnow.org/awards/ Hey just found you because my friend Kevin Cooper gave me awards. We are both published authors as well. Check us out. Thanks Jackie and Kev.

Leave a Reply

